Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

Zesty, healthy Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

Zesty, healthy Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

We all know I love to cook. It gives me great pleasure to work with my hands, I like knowing what I’m putting in my body, it’s a rewarding experience…Blah, blah, blah. As much as that may be the case most of the time, sometimes I’m just worn out, and don’t feel I have the energy to even lift myself from the train seat to depart at the end of my nightly commute, let alone prepare a gastronomic feast for myself once I finally shuffle through my front door.

It’s moments like these–when you’re so tired that normal, minuscule tasks, like brushing your teeth, or leaving the couch on which you’ve begun to fall asleep for the bed in which you should rather be seem momentous–that I fall to my basest of states. I will eat either nothing, or at the opposite end of the acceptable-diet-spectrum, anything. That one might find me sprawled across the floor on my back, with crumbs littering my front and woven into my nest of dreaded hair, in an unconscious, and moreover unconscionable, state is not unlikely. However, as an adult I recognize my being a grotesque stain on the already messy weave of life is unacceptable, and I must behave more conventionally. This is why I need to stock my pantry with healthy easy, prepared foods I can shovel into my face with absolutely no effort when I come home late, exhausted from the NYC hustle.

One of these foods that I like to make ahead is hummus. I’m pretty particular about my hummus, so I decided long ago to just make it myself instead of consuming the store-bought mush. I recreated the Cilantro Jalapeño hummus from Trader Joe’s, one of the few store-bought versions I love. I omit the tahini because I find it has a distasteful bitterness. The jalapeño adds the kick that I desire in just about every savory dish I eat. I was raised on spicy Southern California Mexican food, after all; I can’t help it! Also, the lime and cilantro add a delightful layer of freshness to the mix. I can’t get enough of the stuff! Just throw all the ingredients in a food processor on a lazy Sunday, so you can munch in peace and healthfulness throughout the jam-packed week.

Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 2 (16 oz) cans garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of 3 small limes
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 cups roughly chopped cilantro
  • 3 small (or 2 large) jalapeños, chopped and seeds removed
  • 3/4 tsp salt

Directions:

-Place everything in a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy, about a minute or two.
-Chill overnight so the flavors can meld together before serving.
-Enjoy with chips, crackers, veggies, or a spoon.

Easy as that!

2 thoughts on “Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

  1. marathonsam says:

    Better to be a grotesque stain on the messy weave of life, than to have a grotesquely messy weave staining your life! This post was hilarious, I have DEFINITELY housed an entire tub of hummus all by my lonesome before 🙂 no regrets!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

