“Ice Cream” Trickery!

Creamy banana “ice cream” with almond butter and chocolate chips.

I have a sweet tooth. That much is clear. There are times when I’m willing to go to great lengths to get my hands on a treat. During those times, it’s not beneath my standards or level of self-respect to consume just about anything that falls under the “sweet” category to satiate my craving.

Double Stuf Oreos smothered in peanut butter and marshmallow fluff–because the double creme filling is not enough? Sure. Unbaked brownie batter (with the eggs purposefully omitted) by the spoonful? Absolutely. These gluttonous goodies are no more than garbage. The side effect? They make me feel as trashy as they are. Sure, there’s an element of instant gratification, but that wears off and I’m left feeling sickly from all the junk and guilty from my lack of self-control.

I admit my ability to satisfy my sugar cravings with creative combinations is notable. But I also care about my health, and in general I do try to make healthier food choices. Yes, it takes will power. And yes, it can feel like I’m sacrificing flavor and neglecting my primal desires. But that doesn’t always have to be the case!

I present to you banana “ice cream.” I call it ice cream because it looks, feels, smells, and tastes  like ice cream! I put it in quotes because it’s unbelievable trickery! This “ice cream” is creamy, sweet, rich, and totally delicious, but it’s made with only one ingredient: bananas! How can this be? Well, my friends, let me enlighten you.

The high levels of pectin, fiber and sugar give bananas their creamy consistency and sweet flavor. Plus, bananas are substantial–unlike many other fruits, bananas release energy slowly, which keeps you feeling fuller longer. All of these magical qualities remain consistent through freezing. Cut up some ripe bananas. Freeze them until they’re solid. Then whiz them in a blender or food processor until smooth, and you’ve got yourself ice cream!

Plain banana “ice cream” is great on it’s own, but it also acts as an excellent canvas onto which you can unleash your creative genius! You can blend in some Nutella if you’re into that sorta thing, or even cookie butter (I am most definitely into that sorta thing)! Add some frozen raspberries or peaches to the mix for a tuttier fruitier flare. Throw in some peanut butter, or whatever nut butter you prefer. Not only would this change the flavor; it would also add some protein to the mix to help you feel satisfied even longer. My personal favorite combination is almond butter and mini chocolate chips…because chocolate. Depending on the extras you choose, the nutritional value of the finished product will vary, but you’re still off to a much better, healthier start than if you were to eat regular ice cream.

Banana “Ice Cream”

Ingredients

  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Cut bananas into small chunks. Arrange on a plate in a single layer and freeze until solid (about 2 hours)
  2. Place bananas in a food processor or powerful blender. Puree bananas until smooth and creamy. Add nut butter (or any other blendable ingredient of your choosing) and puree until well combined.
  3. Fold in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.

Enjoy immediately as soft-serve or save in the freezer for a harder ice cream consistency.

4 thoughts on ““Ice Cream” Trickery!

    • whimsykitchen says:

      I wouldn’t say I dip Oreos in peanut butter and marshmallow fluff, as if it’s an everyday occasion. But I also wouldn’t say I don’t dip Oreos in peanut butter and marshmallow fluff, as if it’s never happened before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

