Buffalo Chicken Cup(not)cake

cupnotcake 1

The element of surprise is a key component of my personality and drives me in many of my creative endeavors. Everyone who knows me closely knows there is much more to me beneath the surface that others tend not to expect. This holds true in my kitchen, too. I like to surprise people by getting as creative as possible, by embracing the Weird and loving the Quirky. That’s what Whimsy Kitchen is all about, after all.

As a baker, my life is a whirlwind of sweets. Sugar is always on my mind, and when starting a new project I generally assume what I’m going to make will be of the confectionary persuasion. After all, one of my biggest motivators for baking is the joy I get from making people happy by sharing something that literally and figuratively sweetens their lives. It’s finding a way to turn an ordinary dessert into an extraordinary, unique creation that really gets my gears going, though. I’m talkin’ booze in cupcakes, bacon in cookies!

But there is so much room for creativity beyond the boundary of sweets, too! Savory baking is a twilight zone brimming with the potential for imagination and ingenuity. While basic breads and cheddar scones are delicious and should not be discredited in any way, the space for creativity within savory baking is infinite. I’ve decided it’s time I take advantage of this savory realm of opportunity. I can improve my skills, expand my repertoire, and more fully master my craft by baking more savory dishes.

I was sitting on the train when the idea struck me. What sorts of savory pastries could I make? There’s the quiche–classic and delicious and totally malleable. How about biscuits? I can fix ’em up, make ’em more interesting. No. No, these ideas are all good, but they just weren’t right. Then, all of a sudden it occurred to me: I was still thinking inside the box, and I needed to break out of it. So as I was reaching into the corners of my mind for ideas, it dawned on me.

Buffalo. Chicken. Cup(not)cake. Looks like dessert. Tastes like dinner.

IMG_1624

So what is it (besides sheer genius and magic), you ask? Cheesy, tangy, spicy shredded chicken fills a soft and crispy pizza crust “cupcake” that is baked to golden brown perfection then “frosted” with blue cheese mousse.

The Cup(not)cake is the appetizer you want in your Super Bowl spread. It’s the celebratory treat at your fun-loving, raucous friend’s birthday party. It is your ice cold beer’s new best friend. It is your new favorite (not)dessert.

Buffalo Chicken Cup(not)cake

Ingredients

  • Pizza dough (use whatever recipe or prepackaged dough you prefer)
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked (salt sparingly and pepper to taste) and shredded
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • 1/4 cup extra sharp cheddar, shredded
  • 4 oz blue cheese crumbles
  • 2 oz cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped to firm peaks

I took the semi-homemade route with the Cup(not)cake by using store-bought pizza dough. I rolled out the dough and cut out circles with a cup, saving a little less than half for the tops. I pressed the circles of dough evenly into the cups of the cupcake tin, like little pie crusts. I seasoned the chicken breasts with a little salt and pepper and cooked them in a pan on the stove. I shredded the cooked chicken and stirred in the buffalo sauce and cheddar cheese. Then I filled each dough cup with the shredded buffalo chicken and cheddar cheese mixture (2-3 tablespoons). I topped each chicken cup with a pizza dough top. According to the pizza dough instructions, I baked the cupcakes at 400° for about 18 min, until the crust was golden brown.

While the cupcakes were baking, I blended the cream cheese and blue cheese until very smooth. I whipped the cream in a large glass bowl. Then I folded in the pureed cheese mixture into the whipped cream until well combined.

Once the cupcakes were finished baking and had cooled for a couple minutes, I used a piping bag to frost the them with the blue cheese mousse. If you don’t have a piping bag, simply transfer the mousse into a ZipLoc baggie. Cut the tip off 1 corner of the plastic bag, and squeeze the mousse through the hole.

And there you have it: the Buffalo Chicken Cup(not)cake!

cupnotcake

Be weird and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Cup(not)cake

  1. b b says:

    I admit, I could not picture a savory cupcake being tasty. But you’ve outdone yourself- these were mouthwatering delicious. Make me more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

